Return to Headlines

Strom Thurmond High School Head Custodian James Mathis Named District Support Staff of the Year; J-E-T Middle School Art Teacher Avis Tuttle Jordan Named District Teacher of the Year

Johnston, SC – The Edgefield County School District (ECSD) announced Avis Tuttle Jordan, art teacher at Johnston-Trenton-Edgefield (J-E-T) Middle School as its 2023-24 Teacher of the Year and Strom Thurmond High School lead custodian, James Mathis, as its Support Staff of the Year during a breakfast banquet held Friday, September 22, 2023, at Pine Ridge Country Club.
“We are extremely proud of our teacher of the year and support staff of the year winners and all of our honorees,” stated ECSD Superintendent, Dr. Kevin O’Gorman. “We appreciate each one of them and all of our school district teachers and support staff. We could not serve and support our students and families without their dedication and professionalism.”
Additional 2023-2024 ECSD Teachers of the Year include Merriwether Elementary School Third-Grade Teacher, Janice Bass; W.E. Parker Elementary School Second-Grade Teacher, Jessica Coleman; Strom Thurmond High School Chemistry Teacher, Amy Hardy; Strom Thurmond Career & Technology Center Sports Medicine Instructor, Shelby Faust Gilliam; and Douglas Elementary School Media Specialist and Inquiry Teacher, Shannon Petty.
Also at the banquet, Ida Bryant was named as Bus Driver of the Year for the school district, while Cherret Brooks was named District Office Support Staff of the Year.
Additional Support Staff of the Year include Johnston Elementary School Food Service Staff Member, Karen Bledsoe; Douglas Elementary School Paraprofessional, Dorothy Brooks; Merriwether Middle School Bookkeeper, Shamala Collier; J-E-T Middle School Administrative Assistant, Erica Curry; Merriwether Elementary School Head Custodian, Gregory Harris; W.E. Parker Elementary School Attendance Clerk, Lisa Pedersen; and Strom Thurmond Career & Technology Center Custodian, Rannah Wood.
Congratulations to all of our 2023-2024 Teacher of the Year and Support Staff of the Year honorees!
ECSD Public Information Office