Return to Headlines

W.E. Parker Elementary Educators Awarded Teacher Vision Grants by the Foundation for Public Schools in Edgefield County

Johnston, SC – The Edgefield County School District (ECSD) is pleased to announce the awarding of 30 new Teacher Vision Grants to ECSD educators by the Foundation for Public Schools in Edgefield County (FPSEC). 

“We are extremely grateful for the ongoing support of the Foundation for Public Schools in Edgefield County and its members for our many talented educators,” stated Dr. O’Gorman. “These new grants will allow our teachers to do some amazing things in their classrooms to enhance student engagement and elevate instruction.”

According to the FPSEC, the organization launched the Teacher’s Vision Grants program in 2009 to encourage creativity and innovation in the classroom. The grants support a variety of educational programs which include new programs in music and the arts, reading and literacy, hands-on and technology-driven math, science and social studies, and career-skills training.

Congratulations to the following W.E. Parker Elementary teachers: Andrew Barwick, Nonfiction Library; Amy Bates, Cultural Inclusion in the Classroom through Literature; Audra Bedenbaugh, Put It All Together; Brandi Carpenter, Reading is Our Center Focus; Ronda Cato, Don't Stand so Close to Me; (former ECSD educator Miranda Doolittle, Break-out Guided Reading); Elayna Hatchell, Listening Center; Ashley Olsen, Papermaking; Kristi Palma, Making Math Meaningful with Children's Literature; Gwen Perry, Remarkable Rotations; Leigh Raines, The 3 P's (Powerful, Positive Play); Leslie Schumpert, Learning Wrap-Ups; Christi Westbrook, It Has My Name; and Jenny Yonce, Times Tales.

ECSD Public Information Office