Return to Headlines

Douglas Elementary Educators Awarded Teacher Vision Grants

Johnston, SC – The Edgefield County School District (ECSD) is pleased to announce the awarding of 30 new Teacher Vision Grants to ECSD educators by the Foundation for Public Schools in Edgefield County (FPSEC). 

“We are extremely grateful for the ongoing support of the Foundation for Public Schools in Edgefield County and its members for our many talented educators,” stated Dr. O’Gorman. “These new grants will allow our teachers to do some amazing things in their classrooms to enhance student engagement and improve instruction.”

According to the FPSEC, the organization launched the Teacher’s Vision Grants program in 2009 to encourage creativity and innovation in the classroom. The grants support a variety of educational programs which include new programs in music and the arts, reading and literacy, hands-on and technology-driven math, science and social studies, and career-skills training.

Congratulations to the following Douglas Elementary School teachers:

DOUGLAS ELEMENTARY SCHOOL - Hailee Derrick, Flexible Seating Classroom; Laura Herring, Can you Hear Me Now; and Shannon Petty, Budding Botanists.

ECSD Public Information Office